The Leaves Turn

Today the leaves turned – at least it seems that way. If they weren’t green yesterday, I never noticed. That is how busy my life is.

Now I’m in the garden for a few minutes before the sun goes down and the sparrows are flocking in excitement to the Englemann’s ivy that covers the south wall of our house. They met, perhaps to plan their attack, in the forsythia shrub in the front yard, then rushed in a group to the ivy, making a lot of noise and fluttering their wings as if to frighten something away. Glenn says they are on a bug raid and he is probably right, but what a to-do!

I get a little closer. There are all sorts of aphids in the vines and some berries as well, although these are still green. A big, thick spiderweb contains the remains of many other bugs and flying things. The sparrows flutter behind leaves and a couple leave when they sense my presence. Some return to the Forsythia and some to the honeysuckle.

Sparrow are the main players in the garden right now, but Glenn says he caught a woodpecker pounding away at the top of the bamboo fence he has put up beside the patio. “I walked right up to him and he didn’t stop until I yelled at him, ‘What are you doing?’ and he just looked at me.” Glenn chuckles.

This year was very hot here in Manitoba and the trees were under stress all summer. As a result, all the trees that bear fruit of some kind, carry very heavy loads. The cedars, especially, are turgid with seeds to carry on their kind should they not be able to withstand the winter. The recent rains, though, will have helped them and I know they will get through. These are very tough cedars, venerable at 35 years old.

The petunias look wonderful. I sheared them back before I went to Wales and they didn’t mind the heavy frost they went through the week I was away They are now nice and bushy and will put on a good show until the snow flies as long as I remember to water them. They are not sissies like the dahlias and the basil.

The parsley has recovered from its devastation from the parsely worms. The snapdragons are happy again and the penstemon are brilliantly in bloom as is the Victoria Blue salvia, the annual that is always at its best as the season wanes.

The first solar light has ignited itself. This is the one beside the back door that shine all through the seasons, coming on at the first hint of dusk and flickering through the night until dawn. The others will follow soon and then it will be too dark to continue talking to you. But for now, CBC drones on in the background, and I can see a pink glow of sunlight in the sky over the house. Glenn opens a bottle of red wine, which is an invitation to stop what I’m doing and join him to review the day.

(Sept 25)

13 thoughts on “The Leaves Turn

  1. maryklein8 says:

    wow. did you take that photo? beautiful!

    • Gardening Canuck says:

      I would like to say that I did because it is such a nice photo. Unfortunately I just found it on the web and it looked so fitting for my blog.

  2. Heucherella says:

    I find it interesting that so much of your lovely post could apply to my own area, right over here in England. It’s not such a big world, is it?

  3. Miriam says:

    Autumn is so beautiful I love it when the leaves turn like that

  4. pbmgarden says:

    I enjoyed reading about your garden in this post. In central North Carolina the leaves are yet to show much color at all–something nice to look forward to.

  5. Heather says:

    It has been a lovely fall here in Manitoba. I wish it wasn’t so windy. I’d like to keep the leaves a little longer. I haven’t noticed an overabundance of spruce cones this year from the stressful summer, but perhaps it’s because they masted a few years ago after all that rain. Enjoy the fall in your garden.

  6. Gobetween says:

    I did a post on rue if you are interested to have a look. Plant rue near the berry bushes. Aphids can’t stand the smell and you will not see them in that area again. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

    http://gobetweenflames.wordpress.com/2011/08/11/rue/

  7. MEANMAGENTA says:

    What a marvellous photo, I simply love the Autumn colours!

  8. Tracy says:

    Thanks for sharing your wisdom and wonderful Fall photo with us! Spring and Fall are by far my favourite seasons.
    we are having another weird weather winter and I have some concern about my bulbs ( rot ) wise. Last year I lost several wonderful giant beared Irises and this spring a 12.00 dragan arum bulb rotted in the ground. This time I planted them all on their side but I am still worried considering all the warm weather we’ve had.

    Tracy

Leave a Reply

