Sunny day, magic day, rainy day

The wind is doing its best to blow the new gazebo and fence right over.

The wind is doing its best to blow the new gazebo and fence right over.

It was a brilliant day in early spring, just what I needed to get my garden renovations under way. We were installing a new pergola, a new back fence and at the same time, I decided I’d like a little stone patio to house a fantasy chair I discovered in a local garden centre.

What a job – the guys pulled down and discarded the old fence and I got busy redirecting the garden stepping stones, resetting them, digging and levelling the earth in which to set them. It wasn’t so much the lifting of the pavers as it was the digging of the grass and weeds by hand, but at the end of the day, I was pretty well done in. I came into the house exhausted  but exhilarated.

Glenn designed and erected a fence that lets us see into the park behind our house and Friday, a wonderfully warm and sunny day, our reward was to watch a young man try out his new drone in the park. I went out to chat with him about this marvellous device  that I had written about but never seen up close. Distracted by me, the poor kid let it run out of power and its homing program kicked in. Unfortunately, the GPS setting was lightly off and it crashed in some trees. But it was that kind of evening, full of light and magic and with a pair of blue jays darting in and out of the garden looking for the peanuts that the squirrels keeps stealing and hiding, while we sat in the waning sun and admired our handiwork in the back garden.

Then yesterday, up at 6:00, out in the garden by 7:00 and a full day of digging and planting and weeding and wonder — at both the garden and the fact that I felt great with no body aches or pains supposed to be associated with my age. I planted about 30 perennials in the new garden that we made last fall out of newspaper and topsoil so that Glenn would not have to mow between the roses.

Today is a different story.

It's windy and wet, very wet and very windy.

It’s windy and wet, very wet and very windy.

It is wet. Very wet. The wind is gusting up to 84 kmh. A friend just emailed and said that in addition to being the only non-staff person at the local garden centre, the wind almost blew her off the Perimeter Highway. And it is relatively cold at just seven degrees.

It rained — hard — just two days ago, too, but in spite of that, the ground when I knelt on it yesterday was already dry enough not to wet my knees. Although we have had no snow since mid-march and some 20-degree-plus days already, many of the perennials have been reluctant to show themselves. A few of the hosta have poked up their noses, but most are still in hiding.

I keep checking the weather on-line to see if anything has changed in the forecast because I don’t like the bad news we’ve been getting. Snow is threatened and the temperatures are supposed to drop below zero. I think of all those perennials that I planted yesterday — fortunately they have been outside hardening off the for past two weeks, but I hope they survive

The 80 kmh winds blew the new gazebo off its pins and  pulled the fence away from its post.

The 80 kmh winds blew the new gazebo off its pins and pulled the fence away from its post.

(I just went outside to get you a few pictures and the wind blew the gazebo off its pins — I righted it but have little hope that it won’t happen again. The wind is forecast to stay steady from the north at 50 with gusts as high at 90 for the next 18 hours or so.)

The thing is, the ground here has been so desperately dry that this rain can only do some g. Perhaps all the rain will help keep the plants from freezing when the temperature drops below zero as it is expect to do this evening.

(Oh, no. the gazebo and fence have been hit again).

Glenn and I just went out and this time we shored the thing up form the outside, opened the gate to let the wind blow through and Glenn has tied it down, using some rope and tent pegs. We will hope for the best.
Stay tuned. I’ll update you when I know if the perennials have survived — not to mention the fence!

Glenn tied the gazebo down and I tied the gates open. Here's hoping for the best.

Glenn tied the gazebo down and I tied the gates open. Here’s hoping for the best.

6 thoughts on “Sunny day, magic day, rainy day

  1. Brenda J says:

    What a weekend. I too spent Friday and Saturday with such hope of a productive weekend readying gardens. I bought plants , trees and shrubs. Only now I hauled them all in to keep warm in the basement.

    Maybe next week they’ll be planted into their new hole in the ground.

    Happy Spring everyone.

  2. Keri Kazuk says:

    I have been trying to decide all day whether to cover what I can with a half dozen sheets or just let nature take its course tonight. Don’t have much in the way of tulips but all my alium are up and growing not to mention peonies, poppies, and a whole host of hostas.

  3. Liz Gauthier says:

    Dorothy Dobbie; we had an arbor like the one pictured above and I know from experience that it is best secured into the ground, particularly if you plant a vine that may pull it down as the wind did yours. Ours we put into concrete footings but you could probably use metal fence post stakes too. Your garden is beautiful.

  4. Kirk says:

    Hi this is not related to your post, but I just wanted to reach out to you. I am doing a garden related kickstarter http://bit.ly/Connect_A_Pot
    is something you would be interested in blogging about(or backing just for yourself)?
    If you are, I can give you a preview of all the information.

Leave a Reply

